“Drive the 10,000 miles across America and you will know more about the country than all the institutes of society and political science put together.” – Jean Baudrillard

The Road in Maryland

Experience the road

To discover your own adventure, follow the Maryland Scenic Byways Historic National Road signs posted on local routes. Stop at landmarks or wayside exhibits to uncover stories about the people who built, traveled, lived and worked along the Historic National Road.

Travel the Maryland Historic National Road

The Maryland Historic National Road consists of eight different zones throughout Maryland. Be sure to visit every zone for a rich experience.

Baltimore City

Lexington Market, Camden Yards and Irvington

Baltimore County

Catonsville and Oella

Howard County 

Historic Ellicott City

Carroll County 

Mt. Airy

Frederick County 

New Market, Historic Downtown Frederick, Middletown

Washington County

Boonsboro, Funkstown, Hagerstown, Clear Spring, Hancock

Allegany County

Cumberland, LaVale, Frostburg

Garrett County